Gold Coast Sevens

September 28, 2012 by

Festivals & Events, Things To Do, Travel Tips, Uniquely Australia

International Seven's Rugby tournament

International Seven’s Rugby tournament. Photo courtesy of The National Guard via Flickr.

The Gold Coast Sevens, a rugby union sporting event, occurs annually as part of the Australian section of the IRB Sevens World Series.

Formerly in Adelaide, the two day event moved to the Gold Coast for the 2011-12 season, and will continue there this year in mid-October.

The format for Sevens originated in Scotland and consists of a much more condensed yet power-packed game. Instead of 15 players per side, Sevens contains just 7 people on each team, and is only played between 7 and 10 minutes per half. Because of the condensed version and simpler rules, the games are usually much faster in movement with more points scored, which ultimately results in continuous excitement for spectators.

For the same reasons, team members – picked from the normal rugby union teams around Australia – are often chosen for their abilities to work in a more short-term, high energy focused game environment.

Planning a trip? Browse Viator’s Australia tours and things to do!

The international competition includes 15 official Sevens core teams from:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • England
  • Fiji
  • France
  • Kenya
  • New Zealand
  • Portugal
  • Samoa
  • Scotland
  • Spain
  • South Africa
  • United States
  • Wales

For the 2012-13 season, 9 tournament events will take place in 8 countries, with Australia being one of them.

The Gold Coast Sevens event will take place at Skilled Park on October 12th – 13th in 2012. The Australian sevens team has never come out the champion, while New Zealand has conquered 10 of the last 13 seasons.

- Brooke Schoenman

, , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply