Chinese Pagodas

February 2, 2012 by

Local Guides, Local Recommendations, Sightseeing, Things To Do, Travel Tips

Pagoda of Six Harmonies in Hangzhou

Pagoda of Six Harmonies in Hangzhou

After historical vicissitude over the past thousand years, the Chinese Buddhist pagoda worshipped by Buddhists has developed its own forms through long-term practice. According to classification, pagodas can be roughly divided into: pavilion-typed pagoda of Mahayana, dense-eave pagoda, single-floor pagoda, Lama pagoda, Vajra-based pagoda, Buddhist Pagoda of Hinayana, etc.

Originating from ancient India, called stupa in Sanskrit, pagodas are used originally as a place for enshrining or burying Buddhist relics or remains of eminent monks. Building pagodas was to enshrine and worship Buddha and other religious services. In the early Han Dynasty, Indian Buddhist pagodas spread into China together with Buddhism. In combination with Chinese national and local culture, pagodas have gradually developed into various forms and styles. In the periods from the Eastern Han Dynasty to the Wei, Jin and the Southern and Northern dynasties, pagodas have been seen as the principal part of Buddhist temples. You will find that there is a temple where ever a pagoda is standing. By the Sui and Tang dynasties, pagodas gradually become less important. Liuhe Pagoda is a typical example as one with front pagoda and rear hall.

Find more recommendations from Viator guide Harris Gu. Harris Gu is an experienced Viator guide and offers tours all throughout Shanghai, China. Learn more about Shanghai Expert Harris.

Planning a trip? Browse Viator’s China tours and things to do, China attractions, and China travel recommendations. Or book a private tour guide in China for a customized tour!


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply